MacBook Pro 2016

My 13 inch MacBook Air mid-2013 has been a great laptop, I had upgraded to this from a 15 inch MacBook Pro (2011 model), purely as I was looking to carry around something a lot less weighty, and it more than lived up to expectations. 

In recent times I have noticed the battery on my now 3 year old laptop was delivering less uptime, as you might expect. I looked into replacement cost and time, the cost didn’t worry me so much, however the 2 weeks loss of laptop instantly had me thinking an ambulance may be needed. In the back of my mind I also had thoughts of the fact the expenditure being dead money, instead it might better be diverted towards a new machine. As luck would have it Apple released new MacBook Pro machines, lighter and thinner with even better screens than before. 

I initially said “No!”, which always means “Yes, just later on, keep nagging yourself!” A week ago I relented and ordered with the help of a friend who works at Apple, he gets a discount and is kind enough to offer to friends. The wait for delivery is killing me already, though my adapters and cables are to be delivered Monday, lucky me lol. 

Today I went to our local JB HiFi store and had a play with the model I have ordered, it’s very nice indeed. It was the first time I’d seen the force-touch touchpad, I honestly couldn’t tell any great difference between this and the old machanical click, quite impressed. Of course the new touch bar is the new kid on the block, this looks very cool and I am going to enjoy having this on the new computer. I read this morning that someone customised their touch bar removing the Siri button and putting a screenshot button there, I think I’ll do the same as that will be far more useful than something that never understands me. 

I will say I am disappointed most in the disappearance of MagSafe from the latest generation of Apple machines, this was always a great design and a laptop saver. I have seen one vendor selling an alternate cable emulating this, it is tempting to buy, though it does require a dongle sticking out of your computer for the MagSafe-like cable to connect to. I will miss the inbuilt SD card, not happy to have to carry yet another adapter. My camera may support wireless transfer, however I do no think 32Gb via wireless is feasible, do you?

Hopefully the next few weeks will pass ultra quick, also as it will mean holidays πŸŽ„

Leave a Reply

