A lovely Winter’s day

I booked a night’s stay in Crowne Plaza Hotel in East Perth a few weeks ago as I had a dinner party I was attending just down the road and a late night return to my own home in the northern suburbs late at night was not something I was keen for. A few days beforehand the weather forecast was looking grim, heavy rain and winds due. Come Saturday it hadn’t improved one iota.

Driving to the hotel was stressful enough, I almost never venture into the city, and never to this side, thus I have no experience how to get there. Indeed, the last time I had been here was prior to major changes to the Perth foreshore to develop the new Elizabeth Quay. All I can say is thank god for Google Maps, it told me which lane I needed to be in in order to navigate the maze of roads, but for this app I would have certainly ended up somewhere else.

Arriving safely at my hotel and headed up to my room on the seventh floor keen to check out the view.

IMG_3374

I had a wonderful view of the pool and grass across the road, but the Swan River and South Perth further beyond were nowhere to be seen. The wind was howling, screaming through my sliding door, and the rain was heavy. I was now worried, I was going to have to walk in a few hours to my friend’s place, heaven help me if the weather was like this.

Thankfully the weather settled down come time to head off the Kath’s, it was just lightly drizzling by this time, to my total relief.

The following morning the weather was beautiful and South Perth and the Swan River were restored to the view from level seven.

IMG_3380

Leave a Reply

